Misunderstood 

Hi everyone! I apologize that I haven’t been writing. As most of you know when dealing with cancer the days can seem to fly by. First I would like to wish all of you a happy and prosperous new year filled with blessings and hope. 

Yes everything I have written on my blog is true and all of that has happened but unfortunately I was mistaken by the doctors. My dad had been receiving his treatments from Staten Island with guidance from Sloan Memorial Kettering but Staten Island hospital is the one I should say who has been “calling the shots”.

In my pervious posts I said how the Opdivo was causing my father to be anemic. I found out 6 months later of doing the treatment that that was NOT the case. It took 6 months for a doctor in the emergency room to finally say let’s put a camera and see exactly what is going on. And this was in the emergency room. Turns out this whole time it was a bleeding tumor in the stomach causing him to loose blood and become anemic. A great gastrointestinal doctor removed it and my father’s hemoglobin instantly went up on its own. This whole time that is what it was. Of course I became angry but what can’t you do? I was more grateful that it was removed and taken out. 

The bad news is that the Opdivo was never working. For some reason my father’s body did not take to the medicine and so it was as if for those months that he was on no treatment at all. What did we do next? Well that was another adventure that I will write about later. 

God bless you all! 

And p.s. Always always always ask questions even if they sound stupid to you. It might save someone you care about. Doctors are great but we are all human and we all make mistakes. 

Leave a Reply

